National Council of Women Victoria

Visit on our BLOG/HOT TOPICS section to catch up on our latest news including:

My Vote My Voice, Friday August 31st 2018

This is an invitation from the National Council of Women of Victoria (NCWV) for students to take part in our annual My Vote My Voice event and to make a brief presentation in the Legislative Council Chamber, Parliament of Victoria, on Friday 31 August 2018. The 2018 theme is My Vote My Voice: Diversity in Community Organisations. We also welcome attendees to be part of the audience.

Our 2018 event is designed to encourage students to investigate the level of diversity (gender, ethnicity, age, disability …), in community workplaces by visiting and conducting interviews. Workplaces could include local government, community groups, businesses ... The focus can be on diversity of leadership, decision-making and/or composition. Following their research, students are invited to make three-minute presentations in the Legislative Council Chamber to an audience of students, community members and a panel of eminent women.

Although places are limited, we welcome up to six students from each school, with no more than three to speak, with accompanying staff or parents to attend. We encourage a broad range of students from various year-levels to participate. We have arranged the half day program with on-arrival refreshments and photographs from 8.30am, then students and guests move to the Legislative Council Chamber for a program of speeches, student presentations and panel comments that will conclude at 12 noon.

Young members of NCWVic are keen to hear from students who may be interested in joining the group. See Some of the Young NCWVic members are past speakers at this event and will be at the Parliament to support 2018 speakers. They are also available to visit schools. The purpose of this group is to enable the views of young people to be part of NCWV in promoting and achieving diversity and gender equality. They are also part of a network of young people across Australia affiliated with the Young National Council of Women of Australia, a sub-group of National Council of Women of Australia (NCWA).

My Vote My Voice 2018 has the support of the President of the Legislative Council, and the Education and Community Engagement Unit, Parliament of Victoria; Australian Local Government Women’s Association (Victoria); the League of Women Voters Bessie Rischbieth Trust and the Victorian Electoral Commission. We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincere regards

Elisabeth Newman, President

Pam Hammond, Hon. Secretary

         Click here for flyer

It is time to … renew your membership of NCW Victoria.  

Membership means you can

Download 2018-19 Individual and Organisational Membership Form here

Mission Statement

National Council of Women of Victoria, NCWV, is a non-party-political, non-sectarian, not-for-profit, umbrella organisation with broadly humanitarian and educational objectives. It seeks to raise the awareness of women as to their rights and responsibilities as citizens and encourages their participation in all aspects of community life.


Work for the empowerment of women and families and to promote equal status for women in law and fact.
Develop policies and responses on behalf of women on a state-wide basis.
Act as a voice on issues and concerns of women at state and regional levels.
Link with the women of Australia and the International Council of Women through the National Council of Women of Australia and contribute to the implementation of their plans of action and policies.


NCWV has adopted the International Council of Women (ICW-CIF) Theme:“Transforming Society through the Empowerment of Women”

Who’s under our Umbrella?

National Council of Women of Victoria membership comprises organisations (affiliates), eligible organizations of women or men and women, and individual members approved by the Council.

>> List of organisations (affiliates)

NCWV Office Bearers and Committee 2017-18


Elisabeth Newman

Vice President A

Freda Kaufman

Vice President B

Janet Park

Vice President C (Regional)

Janice Latham

Hon. Secretary / Public Officer

Pam Hammond

State Coordinator of Standing Committees


Individual Members Group Convenor

Eleanor Holden

Ordinary Members of Executive (5 places)

Elida Brereton
Guosheng Chen
Barbara Latham
Benjie Perryman
Diya John

Geelong Branch President

Janice Latham